Since 2013, Rotary has had six Areas of Focus.
  • Peace and conflict prevention/resolution.
  • Disease prevention and treatment.
  • Water and sanitation.
  • Maternal and child health.
  • Basic education and literacy.
  • Economic and community development.
These allow clubs to tailor their work to fit within these areas in order to bring about a better world.
In June, Rotary International announced a seventh Area of Focus – Supporting the Environment. This new area is actually not new to Rotary, it has just been recognised as an Area of Focus for the first time.  For many years, Rotarians and their clubs all around the world, have been active in environmental work.
Now when clubs consider projects to create or support, they consider whether they fall within the 7 Areas of Focus.
Rotarians – People of Action