Tuesday 5th July, 2022 saw the changeover from one club President to another. President Graham Thomson completed his twelve months at the helm of the Rotary Club of Geelong East. Following a series of recognitions and awards, Graham handed over the responsibility for leading the club for the next year to Gary Newton.
Graham was recognised for his service to the Club. Paul Harris Fellow recognitions were presented to John Birrell and Adrian Innes for their extensive service over 20 and 30 years respectively. Graham Thomson was also recognised for both his service and in particular taking on the Presidency for a second time.
Ros Thornton was inducted as an Honorary Member.
Sam Hayward, Club Secretary, was awarded the prestigious Bill Pratt Award. This is presented to a member who has been in the club for less than five years and made a significant contribution to Rotary.
Greg Champion of the Coodabeen Champions entertained the members much to the delight of people.
The photo below depicts two happy Presidents - one completing his year, the other contemplating his. Graham Thomson (right) and Gary Newton (left). Photo courtesy of Pauline Stewart.
Rotary - Imagine